Strengthening executive framework: OP-attached agencies transferred to line departments

To rationalize the operations of the Office of the President (OP) and strengthen the democratic and institutional framework of the executive department, President Rodrigo Roa Duterte, through Executive Order No. 67, transferred eight OP-attached agencies to different line departments on Wednesday, October 31, 2018.

“There is a need to further rationalize the OP Proper to strengthen its oversight functions over the executive department, and further streamline the relevant mandates of its own offices for improved coordination and collaboration, consistent with the right-sizing policy espoused by the Administration,” E.O. 67 sates.

“The transferred government agencies shall harmonize their policies and coordinate their programs and activities with their supervising departments,” E.O. 67 states.

The Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA), headed by former Bureau of Customs (BOC) Commissioner Isidro Lapeña, and the Cooperative Development Authority is transferred to the Department of Trade and Industry.

The National Commission on Muslim Filipinos, Philippine Commission on Women and the National Youth Commission is transferred to the Department of Interior and Local Government.

The National Anti-Poverty Commission, National Commission on Indigenous Peoples and the Presidential Commission on the Urban Poor is transferred to the Department of Social Welfare and Development.

Last September, President Duterte signed E.O. No. 62 transferring the National Food Authority, Philippine Coconut Authority and Fertilizer and Pesticides Authority from the OP to the Department of Agriculture.

In accordance to the rationalization and strengthening the administration, President Duterte recently abolished the Office of Participatory Governance (OPG) and Performance and Projects Management Office (PPMO) under the OP.